Summer interns fall into extension

Marana’s interns share their summer experiences.

Heath Vescori-ChiordiIt seems like things are going really well for Tony and me in Marana these days. In the beginning, we were given the option of taking on multiple projects at our own discretion by choosing things that interested us the most and buckling down and getting ’em done. Now that time is winding down, the deadlines for finishing some of these projects are getting pretty intense.

We have both finished a couple projects. I completed a project for finance to increase citizen engagement, as well as about 95 percent of a request for proposals for the Marana Regional Airport (which I will hopefully be wrapping up this week). But there’s more than that. My big project, and the one that I’m closest to (the development of a Strategic Plan for Economic Development and Tourism) is going to be a long one. It’s my main focus. I have three projects left, each ranked in importance and each with its own timeline. As I’ve been budgeting my time among these projects, as well as the Arizona League of Cities and Towns booth and getting real world economic development experience, time passes quickly. Don’t get me wrong, these projects are all important. Some just hit closer to home than others.

Regardless, based on what we’ve done, the Town has decided to extend our internship a bit, which is amazing. I’m grateful for the opportunity to continue the work that I’ve been doing and keep gaining valuable experience in the field. Tony and I are doing good work and learning a lot in the process. The internship hasn’t just been about he projects we’ve been assigned. It’s been more about working together and solo on projects, creating and maintaining relationships, seeing the subtleties and nuances that exist in our specific areas of interest, and of course, developing a diverse set of skills that will allow us the ability for movement in real jobs.

I think that, when all is said and done, our work is reflective of who we are. Though we don’t know everything, and it takes collaboration to complete these projects, we’re making great strides. I want to extend my sincere gratitude to everyone who has helped so far, and given us the ability to showcase our skills and develop even more.

Thank you, Marana!

Heath Vescovi-Chiordi is a Master of Public Administration candidate at the University of Arizona.

Leave a Reply

